Shakyamuni Buddha, painting by Aloka at the Nottingham Buddhist Centre
Shakyamuni Buddha, painting by Aloka at the Nottingham Buddhist Centre

Introductory Classes and Courses on Buddhism and Meditation

Lotus Flower: Buddhist symbol of Compassion

Buddhism and Meditation Introductory Courses in 2018

The following courses provide a comprehensive introduction to both meditation and Buddhism. And are the starting point for anyone interested in getting involved with what happens at the Buddhist Centre.

Tuesday Evening 6 week Introductory Courses 7.30pm - 9.45pm (doors open 7.15pm)

Please note Booking is essential as places are limited. You can book via our website or by emailing us.

Here are the dates for the first week of each course:

  • Tuesday 9th January (with a day retreat on Sunday 25th February)
  • Tuesday 6th March (with a day retreat on Sunday 22nd April)
  • Tuesday 17th April (with a day retreat on Sunday 3rd June)
  • Tuesday 5th June (with a day retreat on Sunday 15th July)
  • Tuesday 18th September (with a day retreat on Sunday 4th November)
  • Tuesday 30th October (with a day retreat on Sunday 9th December)

Friday Daytime 8 week introductory courses 10am - 12.30pm (doors open 9.45am)

Please note Booking is essential as places are limited. You can book via our website or by emailing us

Here are the dates for the first week of each course:

  • Friday 25th May (with a day retreat on Sunday 15th July)
  • Friday 7th September (with a day retreat on Sunday 4th November)

The Day Retreats at The Buddhist Centre are a chance to take what we have covered in the courses further. The days will run from 10am - 5pm. If you are unable to make the Day retreat that follows your course it is possible to join one of the other days later in the year.

Drop-in Meditation Classes in 2017 and 2018

Open to all levels of experience. You can come to the class for one week, or keep coming for a number of weeks to gain a fuller experience of meditation. There's no need to book, just turn up at the Buddhist Centre.

  • Tuesday Lunch time at 1.05pm - 1.55pm (doors open 12.45pm)
  • Tuesday evenings 7.30pm 8.35pm(doors open 7.15pm)
  • Friday Lunch time 1.05pm - 1.55pm (doors open 12.45pm)

We do not charge for our classes they are all given freely. But if you would like to make a donation to support our activities this is greatly appreciated.

Suggested donation for Introductory course evenings £8. For Drop-in classes £5.


For more information about the Buddha and his teachings click here.
For more information about meditation click here.

top